If you believe you have violated Rhode Island's age of consent laws, you should seek the legal advice of a criminal lawyer immediately. Close in age exemptions allow teens aged 16 and 17 to engage in sexual congress with teens aged 14 and 14, but not with younger minors. Please provide a valid Zip Code or City and choose a category. The Supreme Court, as applied to consenting adults in private settings, has declared such laws, unconstitutional. If you are found guilty of third degree sexual assault, then you can face up to 5 years in prison. What is Statutory Rape?
Individuals aged 15 or younger in Rhode Island are not legally able to consent to sexual activity, and such activity may result in prosecution for statutory rape.
Rhode Island Statutory Rape Defense Attorney
One or more of these charges may be used to prosecute violations of the Rhode Island Age of Consent, as statutory rape or the Rhode Island equivalent of that charge. Generally, anyone over the age of 14 can consent to have sex with anyone under the age of If the defendant is over the age of 18 and if much older than 18 and the victim is under 18 or under the age of 14, then the severity of the punishment will go up. But if you are over the age of 18 and the victim under the age of 14, then you can be charged with child molestation. The age of consent in for sex in Rhode Island is 16 years old. In the United States, the age of consent is the minimum age at which an individual is considered legally old enough to consent to participation in sexual activity. Child molestation sexual assault- second degree.